Essex County Bowling Association 2023 Season

1st Selection Games 3,4,6,7,9,10, 12,13. (Original Issue) Unbadged 1st Game, 2nd Game, 3rd Game, 4th Game Badge *

ESSEX PRESIDENTS' SELECT NORTH v SOUTH (Game 3) (5 Rinks)

Venue: Braintree B.C. 29-31 Clare Road, Braintree CM7 2PA.

Date Tuesday 16th May. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge Pat Finney)

Gordon Barrett	Past President	Ed Mercer *	Brightlingsea	Kevin Johnson	Bocking Alliance
Alex Wightman	Life Member	Neil Crockford	Arclight	Steve Cook	Dunmow
Richard Dodd	President	Tom Matthews	Wivenhoe	Vic Cole	Braintree
Trevor Hackett	Past President	Dave Watts	Brightlingsea	Andy Beatty	Braintree

Ernie Brockman	Falcon	Steve Watkins 1st	Buckhurst Hill
Dave Spence	Writtle	Dennis Tuerena 1st	Buckhurst Hill
Derek Cook	Writtle	Steve Klein 1st	Buckhurst Hill
Martin King	Great Baddow	Glen Stephens	Buckhurst Hill

ESSEX PRESIDENTS' SELECT SOUTH v NORTH (Game 3) (5 Rinks)

Venue: Braintree B.C. 29-31 Clare Road, Braintree CM7 2PA. Date Tuesday 16th May. Start time 2p.m. (Officer in Charge Pat Finney)

Ken Spicer	Group 5 Secretary	Barry Sutton	Kings Chase	Ted Kerr	Hainault
Terry Mizen	County Secretary	Ken Eady	Kings Chase	Eric Brown 3 rd	Wanstead Central
Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	Dave Saggers	Haynes Park	Alex Mair	Woodford
Dave King	Past President	Terry Brown	Kings Chase	Jerry Quy	Aldersbrook

Ken Smith	Essex County	John Dennision	Grays Town
Andy Eva	South Benfleet	Peter Line 3 rd	Grays Town
Shane Rowney 1st	Essex County	Brian Fisher	Grays Town
Julian Williams	Essex County	Tony Matthews	Pitsea

ESSEX v SURREY (Game 4)

Venue: Croydon Bowls Club. 10 Nottingham Road, South Croydon. CR2 6LN. Date Thursday 18th May. Start time 2p.m.

Dave Torrice	Chelmsford	Sandy Dron	Past President	Derek Smith *	Romford
Mark Janes*	Chelmsford	Paul La Plain 1 st	Junior Deputy	Tony Reeves	Romford
Richard Dodd	President	David Jacobi	Group 6 Selector	John Lambert	Phoenix
Russell Gurnett	Romford	Kevin Fitzgerald	Wanstead Central	Dave King	Romford

John Pluck	Wanstead	Chris Long	Braintree	Dave Farquhar	Group 4 Secretary
John Sandell	Woodford	Lyndon Hopkins	Braintree	Keith Jones	Group 8 Secretary
Mike Cornwell	Wanstead	Rob Doleman 3rd	Braintree	Brian Hyland	Billericay
Keith Riley	Past President	Chris Panther	Braintree	Trevor Hackett	Officer in Charge

ESSEX v HERTFORDSHIRE (Game 6)

Venue: Stock & Buttsbury Bowls Club. Common Road, Stock, Ingatestone. CM4 9NF Date Tuesday 23rd May. Start time 2p.m.

Tony Ellis	Chairman	Dave Farquhar	Group 4 Secretary	Eddie Fancourt	Haynes Park
Brian Sims	Stock & Buttsbury	Paul La Plain 2 nd	Junior Deputy	Mark Stephenson *	Upminster
Richard Dodd	President	Brian Hobbs	Handbook Editor	Greg Luxford	Grays Town
John Tully	Officer in Charge	Ken Clarke	Past President	Dave King	Past President
Clive Garraway	Corr / Fobbing	Dave Griggs	Development	Paul Harrison 1st	Chelmsford
Steve Cooke 1st	Thames Sports	Wally Whitehill	Group 9 Secretary	Terry Mizen	County Secretary
Peter Barham	Group 5 Selector	Jamie Lambert 1st	Harold Hill	Phil Mitchell	Great Baddow
Jim Welsh	Corr / Fobbing	Alan Warner	Harold Hill	Eddie Barker	Southminster

ESSEX v BERKSHIRE (Game 7)

Venue: Elsenham Bowls Club. Playing Field, off Leigh Drive, Elsenham, Nr Bishops Stortford. CM22 6BY Date Wednesday 24th May. Start time 2p.m.

Robin Fisher	Danbury	Mike Long *	Clockhouse	Mark Cohen	Past President
Ian Coalbran *	Phoenix	Tony Green	Quendon	Ken Sanders	Southminster
Richard Dodd	President	Chris Flack	Group 6 Secretary	John Paveley 1st	Southminster
Paco Rodriguez	Wanstead Central	Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	Vic Byrne	Plashet Park
Matthew Jones 2 nd	Epping	Ray Jones 2 nd	Elsenham	Doug Baxter	Clockhouse
Micky Rout 3rd	Harlow	Dennis Mills	Clockhouse	Mike Lenard 2 nd	Stock & Buttsbury
John Sandell	Woodford	Peter Barham	Group 5 Selector	Eric Boltwood *	Elsenham
Bob Hillier	Silverthorn	Bill Gibson	Clavering	Trevor Hackett	Officer in Charge

ESSEX v SUFFOLK (Game 9)

Wally Pope

Venue: Clacton Bowls Club. Collingwood Road, Clacton-on-Sea. CO15 1UL Date Tuesday 30th May. Start time 2p.m.(Officer in Charge Pat Finney)

David Brown 1st	Wivenhoe	Ken Wallis	Witham	Brian Hobbs	Handbook Editor
Merv Little *	Writtle	John Sandell	Woodford	Ken Sanders	Southminster
Richard Dodd	President	Brian Stubbings	Life Member	David Mitchell Gears	Past President
Keith Riley	Past President	Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	Ian Harris	Colchester West End
Steve O'Brian 1st	Hainault	Tony Bush 1 st	Wivenhoe	Ron Horncastle	Writtle
Mick Boote	Hainault	Pat Veitch	Mersea Island	Mike Ferris	Dunmow
Kevin Haselgrove 3rd	Writtle	Trevor Owen	Mersea Island	John Stealey *	Witham

Dovercourt

Witham

Andy Cutts

ESSEX v GROUP 2 (Intergroup Winners 2022) (Game 10)

Dave Payne

Venue: Braintree B.C. 29-31 Clare Road, Braintree CM7 2PA. Date Thursday 1st June Start time 2p.m.(Officer in Charge Pat Finney)

Dave Farquhar	Group 4 Secretary	Dave Griggs	Development	Pat O'Gara	Loughton
David Vann 2 nd	Falcon	Paul La Plain 3rd	Junior Deputy	John Batten 2 nd	Wanstead Central
Stuart Walsh	Thorpe Le Soken	Eric Yarnton *	Grays Town	Mark Cohen	Past President
Richard Dodd	President	Ken Clarke	Past President	David Jacobi	Group 6 Selector
Richard Dalton 3rd	Orford House	Chris Clarke	Writtle	Alan Eldridge 2 nd	Grays Town
Phil Fagelson	Wanstead Central	Peter Pushman 1st	Woods	Colin Bond	Buckhurst Hill
Alex Mair	Woodford	Brian Cooke	West Mersea	Martin Childs	Grays Town
Neil Sargeant	Grays Town	Peter Dodson	Ingatestone	Malcolm Eldridge	Grays Town

ESSEX v MIDDLESEX (Game 12)

P.M.L.

Venue: Wanstead Central B.C. Nutter Field, Nutter Lane, Wanstead E11 2JA. Date Tuesday 6th June. Start time 2p.m.(Officer in Charge Stephen Hill)

Sandy Dron	Upminster	Alf Spratt	Essex County	Dave Griggs	Development
Peter Brown	Wanstead Central	Paul La Plain*	Junior Deputy	Dave Curtis 3 rd	Elm Park
Richard Dodd	President	Mike Ferris	Financial Examiner	Stephen Hill	Officer in Charge
Alan Whale	Essex County	Keith Emberson	Castle Point	Peter Barham	Group 5 Selector
David O'Leary	Gidea Park	Ray Ascott	Silverthorn	Dennis Smith	Grays Town
Ted Kerr	Hainault	Richard Rood 3 rd	Buckhurst Hill	Terry Knox 1st	Buckhurst Hill
Les Howard	Gidea Park	Keith Jones	Group 8 Secretary	Bob George	Wanstead Central
Mick Carter	Hockley	Keith Riley	Past President	Vic Bryne	Plashet Park

ESSEX v ESSEX PAST PRESIDENTS (Game 13) Venue: Writtle Bowls Club. Romans Place, Writtle, Chelmsford. CM1 3JD Date Thursday 8th June. Start time 2p.m.

Ian Day *	Rochford	Gordon Barrett	Past President	Alan Smith	Group 3 Secretary
Terry Davies	Essex County	Jeff Daniells *	Stebbing	Stephen Hill	Treasurer
Richard Dodd	President	Dave Hendle	Danbury	Shaun Hill 3 rd	Stansted
Steve Lesslie	Castle Hedingham	Dave Starkey	Senior Deputy	Rex Hobbs	Billericay
Adrian Mann *	Thorpe Le Soken	Sid Curtis 2 nd	Burnham Hillside	Ian Roberts 1 st	Thaxted
Mick Vaughan 2 nd	Grays Town	Jim Bunce	Essex County	Brian Littlewood	Mersea Island
Danny Wakeling *	Grays Town	John Snell 2 nd	Ingatestone	Charles Wheeler *	Aveley
Mark Hale	Thorpe Le Soken	David Jacobi	Group 6 Selector	Trevor Hackett	Officer in Charge

Please Note: The above list of players is supplied by the Group Selectors and is subject to change through non- availability.

Selected Teams Issue 1.doc